Credential Programs

The Department of Learning and Teaching offers several credential programs to prepare teacher candidates for TK-12 grade levels: the Multiple Subject credential, the Single Subject credential, a Bilingual Authorization credential, and the Education Specialist credential. The Multiple Subject credential is intended for self-contained classrooms typically found in elementary schools. The Single Subject credential is for subject-matter teachers typically assigned to middle school and high school positions. The Bilingual Authorization credential allows teacher candidates to teach in a dual language instruction setting (Spanish). The Education Specialist credentials in Mild/Moderate is appropriate for special education settings in grades TK-12 and ages TK-22. The Bilingual Authorization credential program is pending review and approval from the California Commission on Teacher Credentialing (CTC).

Additional Admission Requirements

See the Admission page for basic admission requirements.

Entrance Semesters Fall, Spring, Summer
Application Deadlines Visit
Minimum Grade Point Average 2.75 (4.0 scale) in all undergraduate coursework
Standardized Admission Test CBEST (California Best Educational Skills Test)
CSET (California Subject Examination for Teachers)
Passing scores on both the CBEST and CSET exams required prior to student teaching
Additional Requirements Resume
Statement of Purpose
Two letters of recommendation
Interview for applicants who meet the preliminary selection criteria may be required